It is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

To compromise one's beliefs is to give up on principles that one has developed around those beliefs. That is why it is more harmful to give up than to adhere by them. Obviously, one can not have beliefs that challenge the basic morals of day to day life. One can not adhere to principles that allow him to cheat, take bribes or do illicit activities. If your beliefs are those related to philosophy or new ideas, and they get challenged every now and then, than it is good to accept those challenges and support what you believe in.

To begin with, supporting your beliefs provides you with moral grounds and something to look forward to. Your ideas may not be the rudimentary beliefs that every one holds. They might move huge pieces in this society for its betterment. But if they are worth it one shall abide by them as long as possible. If President Obama had given up because of apartheid challenges that his beliefs faced, racism would have still hold firm grounds in United States.

Moreover, the spiritual beliefs help find mental peace in bad times. One might be challenged for his belief in existence of god, but the mere belief is what keeps us going. It motivates us to do good deeds through our day to day life and make other people's life better. If mother Teresa would have compromised her beliefs, one can see what the consequences could have been for the destitute who were saved by her efforts.

Additionally, its not only amoral or spiritual beliefs but the principles that we set in our work-life that shape the path to our future. Several new inventions were once only imaginations, that at some point would have been mocked by the society. If these inventors had stopped believing in them, mankind would have still living the wanderer's life gathering food. If Right Brothers had given up on thinking that man can fly, transportation would have not been the way we know it now.

However, dogmatic principles that hinder the growth or betterment of the society should be given up as soon as possible. In contradiction to what has stated earlier that it is an arduous task to give up on what you have known for years, one can still try to change the way they look at things if they can see the flaw in their principles and there is no way they can exist

in harmony with society for long terms.

Conclusively, it is very important to stick with what you believe in but it is also dangerous to stick by wrong ideas that pose threats to our society. It is better to be judicious and decide what to stand for and what is to let go.