It is possible to pass laws that control or place limits on people's behavior, but legislation cannot reform human nature. Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts and minds.

Law is the rule that every citizen of the country should follow. It has created by the government to create awareness of punishment for their wrong doings. Because of the law every citizen are scared to do any crime. I agree with author law can punish people based on the crime they have committed but it cannot change human moral behavior.

Before existence of law, in older days kings used to rule their country they were responsible for punishing their citizen of country, but there was none to punish king for his wrong doings. Hence law was created to create impartiality between citizen, in front of law all human beings are treated same there is no partiality. If there was no law existed then the world will be filled with chaos and crime.

For example a robber will be indicted for his wrong doings by the law, but after the punishment has expired he will continue his robbery, this shows that law can punish him but it cannot change his mind to stop the robbery. The people commit crime based on circumstance few happens unexpectedly and few because of prejudice. But law do not see the circumstance to punish the crime there is no second chance to any one.

There are few cases where law helped to change there heart and mind. Some people accidentally had been committed the crime because of their ego but later the contrition helps them to realize that they have committed the big mistake. If they behave well and good in their rehab there will be chances where the duration of the punishment will be reduce.

In conclusion the law has rights to punish everyone for their crime, where we cannot say that law cannot change people heart and mind there will be very rare case where due to remorse people change and start new life.