It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are generated and preserved.

To claim that it is mainly in cities that a nation’s cultural tradition is generated and preserved, as the statement above does, is a flawed statement. As it will be discussed, it is a matter of desire that a culture is generated and is preserved regardless that it is in cities or rural parts. Furthermore, especially in cities the cultural traditions are harder to be preserved because of the two main factors: industrialization and globalization.

To begin with, established trends transmitted from one generation to another becomes cultural traditions. This is the origin of cultural traditions, people develop trends which is found complying with their needs and it becomes cultural traditions, otherwise the trends wane. To illustrate this point consider the cultural tradition of marriage in younger ages in past of Iran comparing to marriage in older ages in now a days.

In past century in Iran, it was a cultural tradition to get married right after the puberty, and having several children also was an expectation from families. It was not acceptable to have boyfriend or girlfriend as they were “wasting of time”, and it was not acceptable to have one child or no child after making a family. In past, the sooner a man and woman get married, the more children they could have. As the energy of muscles was the only power to rely on, having more sons _ who do not expect to be paid _ would have benefited poor families. With this situation girls who are physically less strong were allocated to the kitchen and homemaking. It was needed for the whole family to work close each other to save the day. In that case any trend which causes a delay in marriage were doomed to fail and boys and girls should have been engaged near after the age of puberty. Hence cultural traditions arise and remain while they are consistent with the people’s desires.

However, demands of life are not perpetually consistent. After industrialization, there would have been no need to make children and bring them up to be helpful for the families in farms, mines, or jungles. The energy of muscle cedes its place to electricity. Furthermore, the age of marriage has elevated because individuals are needed to educate and find decent jobs which it took much time. Individuals can benefit not only themselves but their society without necessarily involvement in a family and producing children. Hence, change in people’s desire has changed their culture. It is based on the desire of people’s life that they assume a culture or abandon it.

Furthermore, beside industrialization, it is globalization that affects cultural traditions. It was with being introduced to other cultures that cultural prejudices wanes. In Iranian community girlfriend-boyfriend relationship is increasingly becoming acceptable because of seeing other cultures and observing that such relationship has not impede people in order to become successful.

Finally, cities are not the place that cultural traditions are preserved. Regarding the two factors mentioned above, cities are mainly exposed to such factors, while marginal parts are more intact. In Iranian society, still in rural part cultural tradition of marriage in younger ages is common and the prejudices about making families is remain intact while it is in cities that new culture is becoming acceptable about having girlfriend-boyfriend relationship.

In short, rise and fall of cultural traditions are tied with the changes in people's desires. Moreover, cities are much more vulnerable to be affected with the changes by industrialization or globalization. It is thus not only cities that cultural traditions are born, and cultural traditions could hardly be preserved in cities while in marginal part can be maintained more readily.