It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are generated and preserved.

Is it primarily in cities that a nation’s cultural traditions are generated and preserved? In another word, are cities the major places that keep the pithy traditions of a nation?Maybe in some cases the claim sounds right, while it overstate the importance of cities and undermine other factors. Therefore, I could only agree partly with it.

It is true that in many countries, cities are the most significant places that record its history and cultural remains. For example, in the US, New York and Washington, both of which thrive in the short hundreds of years, have witnessed the progress of American economics as well as intensive social change. In those countries with long history and gloried past, such as Egypt and China, the cultural symbols also keep most intact in major cities. You could not claim that you grasp the pith of these old cultures unless you visit the great pyramids near the capital city, Karo, or the Palace in the center of Beijing. Since cities, especially major ones, have more resources than other areas, they usually focus more on the preservation of old remnants. In addition, with people from other areas flooding into cities, they carry different local cultures with them, integrating into an organic part of the nation’s unique cultural pattern.

However, in some cases, other places, like downtown or rural areas matter more than cities. During the up and downs one nation experienced in its long history, it is inevitable to change the places of economic and political focuses, thereby bringing the core culture from one place to another. Eventually, the original prosperous cities were gradually abandoned and marginalized, even disappeared, but the relatively new cities thrive up. For instance, in archaeological researches, explorers often come across to some remnants of antiques such as ancient pottery in an unknown remote village, which may imply its splendid past even local people can hardly imagine.

From above cases, the situations vary in different countries, so we need to consider it case-by-case. In a country which is rather young, such as the US and Australia, its spirit may display best in its cities, since it does not experience dramatic changes in geographical focus. However, for countries such as Britain ,India and China which owns thousands years of history, the explorers have to research different areas according to the precedent writings, for sometimes the small villages overweight those big cities in history. Consider from another perspective, both the two respects could not be ignored, it is more rational for scientists to consider from multifarious angles in order to come to an appropriate conclusion and figure out a more explicit and consistent explanation of its past.