Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Laws are the guidance of a nation and to guide the nation to the right course, laws should be flexible enough to reflect public consciousness and also should be strict to tackle difficult situations.

From psychological perspective, we human have some predisposition to break laws and that is why there should be enough provision for alternatives so that we are not directly compelled to break it. Moreover, If laws are too much strict and the government overexercise that power and at certain time, leaders become autocrat.

A law is made considering a situation and at certain time that situation may not exist. So, the validity of enforcing that law become obsolete over time and that is why from time to time it should be modified. For example, a few decades ago, carbon emission and environment condition were not that much worse, what that it is today. So, laws regarding carbon footprint, fossil fuel consumption were not that much stringent. But today, situation has changed, there are mass consciousness against that catastrophe and that is why world leaders are much more concerned about these issues today than before. Countries are going through more strict regulations, and laws are being modified more strictly day by day. So, from this scenario, we can say that, depending on consequence and time, laws should be flexible and sometimes need to be changed.

When a new country is born, suppose a war torn newborn country, initially there are a lots of shortcoming and adverse situations and that is why the newborn government may have less strict laws regarding varied situations so that the citizen can feel free to work together, to wake up from the initial crisis. But to succeed in the long run, the country should impose strict laws by time, so that the whole system works in order. Authority should take strict measure against rebellion. So, from this circumstances, we can say that, depending on situation laws should be flexible.

Laws should respect every culture and provide freedom to flourish them. At the same time, an act which is a norm in one culture, may be the not in another. For this, any strict system regarding any behavior, attitude should not be the nationwide standard rather persons behavioral attributes should be justified depending on the culture they live on. In India, slaughtering cow is regarded as a crime but it should not be the nationwide standard as there are some other states like Kashmir where people are Muslim. So, forbidding them from doing their rituals should not be the standard practice and that is why laws should be flexible enough depending on places.

On the contrary, situation arises when people become rebellious and thwart the development of the country. At that time, strict law should be enforced so that mass people would not be encouraged to join the turmoil to embarrass the government or impede development.

To conclude, laws should be flexible enough to change depending on situation and places, at the same time, should have optimum strictness to drive the nation to the right course.