Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The laws are for the people, to run their life in orderly manner and provide safety to them. Laws should be strict enough, so that people think before committing any crime or doing any unlawful action. On the other hand, these laws need to be little flexible for exceptions. There are many circumstances happens in life under which someone can violate law, which doesn't mean that he/she doesn't respect law, but circumstances make him do such thing which was breaking the law. Laws can be flexible to these circumstance until or unless it doesn't cause danger to humanity.

All the people who commits crime may not be criminal, they might have done under some pressure. In this case, before giving punishment, it is necessary to check situations under which crime happened. For example, if one person is trying rob or kill someone, and robber got hurt in the fight, then the person who hurt him should not get punishment, just because he hurt the robber, his circumstances need to be considered as well, due which his punishment can be reduced,.

Laws need to be flexible in some minor violations which doesn't cause harm to anybody. For example, traffic violations. Traffic laws are important to keep traffic smooth and in order, but if someone is under urgancy, and speeds up on road till safe speed limit, then traffic police can consider his circumstances, and can waive his punishment, because, violator might have some medical emergancy, or if he speeds up little, it can save him from loosing job.

The other side of the issue is laws should not be much flexible that powerful people can take advantage. Many time powerful people break laws unnecessary and find a way to play with laws. The flexibility of the laws should be status based, so that powerful people cannot take advantage of it.

Thus, in conclusion, laws need to be bit flexible and should consider exceptions, but people with power should be allowed to play with these loopholes. Laws are for the people, and these can be modified for the welfare of the humanity, but not to give advantage to the powerful people.