Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Laws in any nation are to protect people and prevent unlawful activities. Laws are for people and these need to be flexible to certain extent to accomodate various circumstances, times and places. Sometimes people commit crimes or any illegal activity under forced conditions, not intentionally. When such situations comes, while giving punishment consider those circumstances and give some rebate in punishment.

There are crimes which happens in self defense. For example, if someone is getting robbed or beaten up by someone, and in selfdefense other person hurts or kills the robber, in this case, law need to consider that person's circumstances instead of giving strict punishment as per law.

Sometimes, people are forced to crimes by some group of bad people. In this case, if some one indulges any illegal activity and get caught by police. Then giving punishment to without considering his circumstances can't be fair. For example, if someone kidnapper kidnaps someone's child and tell them to do something unlawful, then it is still a crime but, punishment can be modified according to his circumstances.

Laws change from country to country or sometimes state to state also. If someone relocated to new country and doesn't something which was legal in his previous country and illigal in his new country, then instead of punishing them educate them or give some minor punishment may work.

On the other side, people might take advantage of flexible laws, and commit crimes and able to save themselves from punishment. In this case, judges and police need to be careful enough, so that criminals should not take advantage of flexible law.

In conclusion, as laws are for people, and there are circumstances, in which people break laws unintentionaly or forcefully, laws can be flexible for them, but make sure no one take advantage of flexible laws and commits crimes.