The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Some critics argue that nowadays the luxuries and conveniences of modern life are hindering people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals. They, however, really see one aspect of something. In reality, without the creations and inventions of the strong, independent individuals, how would we have lived so much pleasurable environment? This does not deny that some people indeed abandon themselves in current luxuries and conveniences of life, but they are only the small fraction of our society, and I believe that today's convenient life will make individuals stronger and more independent rather than weaker and more reliant in the context of the ever-increasing competitiveness and globalization.

Exactly as critics are worried, healthy problem has become more and more looming because modern people enjoy a large range of luxurious and convenient life that advanced technologies bring about. In physically, such diseases as diabetes, cancers, tumors, obesity have been the top four killers of health, the cause of which is because convenient life makes people vulnerable——cars take the place of walking, snacks or exquisite foodstuffs substitute coarse grains, abundant vegetables and fruits are planted with pesticides, fertilizers, hormones, in short, this kind of lifestyle is increasingly eroding people's health. In mentally, some people suffer from anxiety, disorder, for housing, cars, and the luxuries are compressing the development of their spirit. People struggle for simply enjoying higher physical necessities and exert heavier pressure on themselves, resulting in insomnia, disorder, even schizophrenia, which is really a serious problem for today's people.

Conscious of the seriousness of these problems produced by the luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life, the governments, together with professors from different fields, publish these hazards, and suggest how people should improve their body constitution. Balanced-nutritious foods produced by modern technologies are available, advanced sport facilities and excise videos are ubiquitous, wearable devices warn people about their health situation. All these means will help people develop healthier and stronger individuals.

Modern technologies have made it possible for people to realize all-round development, being a real independent, free individual. First, abundant materials are enough for people to turn from their basic necessities, even higher-level standard of physical life, to pursue for their career, from one occupation or one place to another, a process of searching for themselves. Particularly, internet expand people's conception of time and space, not confined within specific place and group, in which everyone, as an independent individual, connects with others in the globe. Second, with the aid of diverse electric tools of learning, people from child to adult begin self-study, self-judgment, self-analysis, self-decision. For instance, BBK learning machine (an electric device for automatic learning) are installed and instantly updated with plentiful learning materials for students from preliminary phase to high school to study at any time anywhere, with the passing time they accumulate more and more knowledge and gradually cultivate their own means of learning and problem-solution, strengthened by the guidance of teachers and by school-developed teaching tools including classes of training creativity. Afterwards entering into university, they must independently finish their thesis mainly by extensively searching, reading, sifting internet materials at home and abroad, a process of deeply cultivating critical, creative thinking. Then they become more mature in dealing with interpersonal relation, overcoming difficulties of work and life, partly due to the help of information technology that can supply the solution on any subject. In old age, people can find a lot of entertainments and sports to spend their time, less dependent on their offspring.

All in all, by properly taking advantage of the luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life, people will develop more perfect individuals.