Many important discoveries or creations are accidental: it is usually while seeking the answer to one question that we come across the answer to another.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Some may argue that a lot of discoveries are brought about by luck. A discussion of luck or effort is essential since it affects the ways which people pursue their goals. However, in my stance, I do not support that the most achievements can be accomplished by chances or accidents, but by the efforts, preparation, and endurance.

First of all, most achievement and discoveries are found or performed by donating innumerous efforts and time. The researchers might study for the related knowledge for many years, and then use their knowledge to develop, discover, and solve both new things and old myths. For instance, Tomas Edison who donated largely in technology said that genius is 1 percent inspiration and 99 percent perspiration. Therefore, before funding anything, many researchers already put copious efforts in the fields, which might not easily be seen by other people.

Moreover, chance favors the one with a prepared mind. In the long term preparation which might not be promising to have an expecting result, some people keep donating their efforts, do everything to make themselves better, and never give up. In other words, some people who continuous working hard until a chance merges, and then they succeed, while they might be regarded as lucky people by who ignores their long term efforts. In the other hand, if they are not prepared or do not have intricate and broad knowledge, they would not reach anything even they have abundant chances.

Admittedly, Newton discovered gravity since a hit of a falling apple. Nevertheless, if Newton did not spend time to think what makes the apple fall, it is an accident with the chance but never be seized by Newton. To illustrate, even if one wants to win a lottery, the person needs to purchase it at first, despite an important discover would be much harder than buying a lottery. If the person does not want to give something at beginning, it is hard to receive anything back.

In the conclusion, many discoveries are deemed as found by luck but ignore the real endeavors which be devoted so hardly and excessively. Those endeavors cannot be identified as luck but preparation.