Many important discoveries or creations are accidental: it is usually while seeking the answer to one question that we come across the answer to another.

The author of this statement claims the many of important discoveries and creations are accidentally. As far as I am concerned, this assertion was true in the past, while in the modern age most discoveries are gained by logical procedures.

First at all, scientist and researchers use the trail and errors in the past. Therefore, it is quite normal they have faced many unpredictable results, which may were important than what they wanted to find. I think that a small example can give some light to this matter. When Henry Becquerel, who was a famous chemist, work on phosphorescence activities on certain materials, he found that some of them can emission light without exposure on the sun. Hence, he concluded that some materials have special properties that he called radioactivity.

In contrast, nowadays, the scenario is more different than what was previously, and researchers have to use scientific approaches for discovery new things in the most cases. In fact, the trail and error is costly and time consuming. I think that there is not a better example than radioactive experiments. Scientist measure many chemical reactions with mathematics, and simulate them in the computers before they start their experiments. Indeed, they can predict a great percentage of the results in the research level, and they rarely face with unforeseen results.

In sum, it is acceptable many of discoveries in the past base on accidental events. However, modern scientists always use the scientific procedure, which decreases the possibility of unpredictable results, for their experiments.