Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

The statement attempts to bridge a relationship between mass media and our enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information. That assumption is based on the premises that, due to mass media and internet proliferation, people's attention spans to get shorter and thus people are more able to look at up different information and find out what's important. However, in deeper analysis, I found that, there are different negative implications of mass and internet proliferation, which has not been taken into consideration. So, I disagree with the claim strongly and below I am presenting the reasons of my stance.

That is true that, due to mass media expansion, we people are losing our attention power to any specific thing. But the result of that situation is far worse than good. People are getting a superficial knowledge in an specific field. It is difficult to sort out the important information from a myriad of information and that is why, it is also difficult to point out where we should focus. At the same time, it is becoming more difficult to gain specific knowledge in any specific field, our life is getting more compacted with an astronomical rate of information infusion. So, in places where specific and extensive knowledge is required, like in academic field, students/ teachers are getting more busier to exclude unnecessary information than to delve into the subject or topics they actually need to.

Similarly, it is very difficult to sort out the most important information from a large amount of mass media and internet hoax. People's attention is getting more diverse and that is why there is a great amount of time wastage in finding the information which is actually required to focus on. Moreover, due to internet propaganda, it is also difficult to sort out the authentic and unauthentic news and thus our valuable time is being get wasted most of the times in fake news. Recently, in the US election, Facebook was accused for trending false information regarding Donuld Trump's victory, which perplexed the voters regarding the actual election scenario. After that accusation, Facebook has taken several measures to remove false information from being circulating in the internet, which was not only necessary for Facebook's business stability but for also the people of the world.

Lastly, to conclude, it is evident that, mass media and internet proliferation is making our life tougher by spreading fake news and information unworthy to focus on. People are getting disgusted and gaining superficial knowledge where they require more extensive information, which is due to only the vast information sources without any depth.