Men and women, because of their inherent physical differences, are not equally suited for many tasks.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Both genders have played an important role in evolution of civilization. Men have been doing the heavy-lifting and seeing to it that the family sustains the resources for it's own survival, women, on the other hand have taken care of the homely requisites, taking care of the children, the home and nurturing the family as she would with her whole heart. Although they have played quite stereotypical roles, as evident in history itself, I personally think that circumscribing their roles in advent of the new age is limiting and controversial.

Let's take a practical example. Studies do not necessarily show that men are smarter than women, erudite faculties also presents itself in women. If a software-developing company were to hire solely males and not females because they think it is not a valid job for the latter, they were simply ignoring the possibility that female would've been better at the job- both in persistence and in skill. The average Joe sometimes must realize that our Joan, is as intellectual as he, if not more; This really puts away the stereotyping tendencies of the selection committee and allows them to explore more talent. It increases their pool of choices and further ameliorates their company's brain-pool.

If we take a look at the past times, we can see how effective the role of women was in occupations that only allowed gents to be the staple. Consider the MBTi Test- Meyer Briggs' Type Indicator. This personality test was developed by two women housemates namely Meyer Jung & Briggs Jung- the cause of this development because at that time, the men were at war and the society organization quickly needed to assess each woman and see to it that a suitable job is granted to her for flawless functioning of the society. Also, one must only go so far in the fields of science to see the roles being reversed- consider Marie Curie. The discoverer of the element Radium; She not only died because of her dedication to perfect Radium stability but also allowed her husband to be a part of her research. Would you rather have anyone else do that?

In perspective of clinical psychology, it is easy to see the roles of men and women in society as fixed. Asserted by the fact that most media, good or bad, occasionally tends to portray these legitimacy. However, on one hand, while you can fixate each gender it's goals for society, one cannot simply see their surrounding subjectively. Each person is an individual in itself and to expect any certainty from him is blasphemy. Would you not have men cook? Would you not consider hiring a female fire-fighter? These questions promote the idea of individuality. Every person should be able to decide their own goals them selves- and not based on societal pressures or expectations.

There may be some cases where men would be infinitely more suitable for the job- a soldier, or a female would be a better match for it- such as, a nurse. Men are naturally a stronger counterpart of our species, physically they are more capable than females who are since childhood, raised as empathetic creature of choice. But one can also argue that this is consistently based on upbringing than human nature. We may wait for the day for actual studies to show up on this one!

Conclusively, I remain stern to the idea of promoting a gender-equal ideology in all occupations except where the physicality comes as a striking issue. People should choose for their own merits.