The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth.

In statement claims of the most effective way of understanding contemporary culture is scrutiny of young people’s trend. Young people have many ideas with originality and reluctant to routine works, or try to behave differently than other age. They are willing to do the “different” way of making a trend as nobody did in the past. Trend can be various; music, paint, and fashions are probably works for the trend. Unfortunately, understanding the contemporary culture is to understand the phenomenon of the society and society makes millions, or billions of aspects interrelated with various types, which can be politics, science, anthropology, history. There are three valuable reasons to disagree the statement.

First and foremost, contemporary culture is not only for the trends of youth; tradition is the key word for the contemporary culture. Young people are making world differently, but the fact is that youth’s trend is only part of the contemporary culture. Eating turkey in the Thanksgiving Day is not only for the young people but for the family with range of whole age. It is a tradition of the whole family eating the turkey with appreciating about food.

Furthermore, contemporary culture can be a phenomena of long-standing for contemporary society. United States has been suffered about race inequality. Also, politics grasped some part of the discriminatory policy, which made more miserable situation. Rosa Park engendered the boycotting the bus and Martin Luther King Jr made an approach about race equality with thundering voice; the declamation of the race equality was one of most important step in society. Contemporary people in that time was trying to understand why that was important step, found the value that the human race should not be discriminated by color. Hence, phenomena of long-standing can be a contemporary culture.

Lastly, participation makes contemporary culture. If there is no such possibility of participation in the culture, then it is not contemporary culture anymore. The statement claims youth trends make contemporary culture because young people participate what they pursue and what they want. However, it is not only happened in young people. Recently, the president Trump got elected as 45th president of United States. This is one way of understanding contemporary culture because there are two different groups; one who likes Trump or the other. The way that people participated in this election is to vote. Another method of participation is debate; people discuss about how president Trump make US great again is one of the contemporary culture.

In closing, with those three reasons, the contemporary culture is not confined within trends of youth; contemporary culture is for the people who have the tradition, participation, and phenomena of long-standing for contemporary society.