The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth.

The change in a culture is a continuous process. These changes in culture do not seem apparently but it changes; example is, the hair style which people used to admire is outdated now. The author here contends that most effective way to understand the contemporary culture is analyze the trends of its youth. Though, contention seems persuasive but in my opinion, not only youth is representative of the culture. Therefore I disagree with the author up to some extent.

The society consist people with all the ages. Observing only young generation doesn't give idea about whole society. What adults wear or how elders spend their day is also part of the culture. Analysis of only young generation will give incomplete outlook of the culture. This provincial outlook is not demonstrator of the culture of the whole society.

Moreover, the aspects which we can analyze from trends of the young generation are not the complete. The trends of youth such as their clothes, their hairdo, eating habits, music they listen, etc. only gives perfunctory view of the culture. These peripheral features only defines small fraction of the culture. To analyze the culture one has to look into details of how people speak, their eating habit, their history, their literature, their food, geography, music and many more parameters. Then only we can understand the culture of a particular society as whole.

However, Some of this parameters changes very rapidly. For instance, fashion, hair styles, type of music, etc. changes more frequently than their eating habits, literature, recreational activities, etc. And youth is more prone to adopt these rapidly changing trends. Some trends changes so rapidly that adults and elders are sometimes totally unknown to that. So one can argue that youth can effectively represent the current culture but excluding other than youth does not give whole picture.

Therefore, we can conclude that, only analyzing trends of youth, one can only have parochial outlook of the culture of the society. Adults and elders must be included to analysis to understand the complete picture.