Most people prefer restrictions and regulations to absolute freedom of choice, although they would probably deny such a preference.

Rules and regulations are the fundamental aspects of the society. Such laws help to maintain a uniform system for a uniform approach. People should abide by these rules and strictly follow them. Every person in this world is born free and has the freedom to perceive whatever he or she wishes to do. However, if everyone start thinking only about themselves and start behaving in the manner they like, we will have a haphazard system. Therefore, man made rules and regulations to maintain the decorum of the society and make people follow a well structured approach.

A person is granted his or her freedom of choice to choose their field of proficiency. There are no restrictions in selecting which particular school to join or which college education program to take or which brand of clothing to wear and so on. But once the choice is selected, there are certain terms concerned with the respective organization that we must abide by. If the conditions are not fulfilled properly, the organization has the right to take the appropriate measures to maintain the conduct. For example, a company follows a dress code that includes a formal shirt, tie, trouser and shoes. This dress code is a sign of conduct to maintain the decorum of the organization. If an employee walks in wearing a casual wear outfit, he or she will be reprimanded and will not be allowed to enter the organization. The person in this case cannot say that he or she has the right to freedom of choice and that he or she can wear clothes of his or her choice.

Nevertheless, people often demand for their right to freedom of choice because they feel that the system tries to force their ideals upon them. They have freedom to choose a particular field but they feel that their scope is limited because of the restrictions put up on them and hence demand for absolute freedom without any bounds and restrictions. Freedom of choice means that people get to decide what they want to do and how they plan to do it. But even though they have the freedom of choice, the choice selected should not affect any other person directly or indirectly.

However, if people are given an absolute freedom of choice, they tend to get confused with all the freedom and find it difficult to choose a particular path from a myriad of options. It is similar to the case when a person wins a lottery. He or she does not know how what to do with all the wealth and sometimes make decisions which prove to be detrimental. Restrictions and regulations therefore help individuals to limit their choices and make proper decisions. Most people, therefore prefer to have restrictions and regulations in their day to day activities, so that they have a proper idea about what is acceptable and what is not. With this knowledge it is easier for them to follow a proper social conduct.