In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

“Imagination is more important than knowledge” is a famous quote from one of the most well-known physicians, Albert Einstein. Einstein and some people believe that creativity is more crucial than knowledge, while some believe knowledge is the most significant, because most new knowledge is developed from previous knowledge. I agree that imagination is more important than knowledge, because creativity plays a key role in many important discoveries and theories.

First, theory of relativity is a good instance to support the argument. Theory of relativity is discovered by Albert Einstein. Before theory of relativity, there were many things that cannot be explained by the physics principles at the time. The theory of relativity is different than all canons in physics during that time and can solve most of the unanswerable questions. This shows that knowledge is important, yet without Einstein’s imagination, theory of relativity will not be discovered. Therefore, imagination is more significant than knowledge.

Other than theory of relativity, the discovery of the structure of benzene is also a great example. The structure of benzene is distinct from many organic compounds, so it is a problem for chemists. Many scientists suggested some structures according to some laws in chemistry, but the suggested structures did not match the benzene properties. Michael Faraday, who discovers the structure of benzene, determines the structure of benzene after a literature class. He imagined the structure of benzene should be similar to the snake biting its tail, and this structure matches the benzene properties. Thus, creativity is more important than understanding.

Thirdly, stories from William Shakespeare are another illustration. William Shakespeare has many famous plots and plays, and one of the reasons that William Shakespeare is well-known is because of his creativity. His ideas in the stories are very disparate than plays during that time. Therefore, imagination is more significant than knowledge.

In conclusion, I agree that imagination is more important than knowledge, because creativity plays a key role in many important discoveries and theories. From the instances of relativity, structure of benzene, and stories from William Shakespeare, they have proven imagination is more important than knowledge.