A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The youth of the nation hold the key to the future of the nation. The phrase is a very true and indeed a very wise one. The youth of the nation is responsible for the country's future, and so developing and nourishing them from the very begining of life is very essential. The above claim is that, the students must study the same national curriculum until they enter college. I support the above claim, though more, on grounds, but not on other factors..

Primarily, all the individuals of the society must be given equal chance. This also stands true for the students in their childhood. When all of the students are taught a common national curriculum, everyone will compete with each other on same grounds and hence the we can truely identify the potential of each and every individuals. For example, a child turning out from a very small village will not be undermined by a child from town just because of their livelihood. They both will get equal opportunities and hence the one who performs well will get the deserved seat in college.

Also, by giving a standard and common curriculum, all students will be studying a little of all the fields existing in the world. Hence they will be able to measure their own interests and strengths by themselves. This will help them to select the future path that they would choose more appropriately. Like, as everyone will be exposed to some amount of art, science, history, geograpghy, etc; one will try to find his furture in science, if he finds it more lucrative, while the other one who finds himself better in art, will pursue arts.

On contrary though, every student will get only a limited outlook of all the fields, as the common curriculum will have only limited parts of it. So, if a student is interested only in science, he may be disinterested in other subjects. He may find it better to have more and more of science related study. Also the final results of the student may be hampered as he may not study the rest of the subjects wholeheartedly.

And the other drawback may be that, less amount of syllabus can be completed if the curriculum has to be made standard. While if the syllabus is made according the student and resources of the school, then more effective things can be taught in the same amount of time.

Hence, I believe that the curriculum of the students must be made nationally same. But the other factors must not be overshadowed. A effective and very strong curriculum with a considerate flexible system must be passed so that the opportunities remain uniform and open for all, and everyone has the environment to express their potential to the fullest.