A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position

Everyone knows that education plays an important part in our modern world. Choosing an education is viewed by many as an important step in defining the future of their lives. That is why it is important that we have something to chose from. In other words, there should not be the same national curriculum for all the students.

Some may feel that national curriculum is a good idea, because it provides students with time-honed quality education. But what is the value of quality if it cannot be improved? The world we are living in changes very fast, including the educational techniques that are used to teach students. New theories on how to teach and what to teach are born almost every day. For example, there are at least two techniques of speed-reading: diagonal speed reading and the one where only the endings of the sentences are read. Which one is better?

Imagine that such thing as national curriculum really exists. What we will have at the end of such education? Army of like-minded people that simply won’t be able to create something new because they think the same. The national curriculum simply cannot prepare the students for a life in the college. College education is no only learning, but creating too. In order to create something new a person should think “out of the box”. And that’s what college is aimed at: to teach its students to think differently and to develop their own personality. In case of a national curriculum, it can be a hard task, because all the students will have the same intellectual basis, thus, their personality development will be the same. In addition, some students will simply may not be satisfied with the “average” education.

It is a well-know fact, that a competition bring out the best in people. Schools also compete with each other for the best students. And what to compete for if there is only one national curriculum? There will be no difference for students between schools, thus, no competition between schools. Why bother? Educational level can drop significantly in this case, resulting in a dramatic consequences for the students, that won’t receive a proper education.

All in all, education is not something that can be approached with an ordinary template. Although the same national curriculum for all the schools may seem like a good idea at first sight, it cannot withstand its inner malfunction in providing diversity for a diverse community of students.