A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

A national curriculum acts a crucial uniting role across the nation that makes it necessary to follow such a centralized national syllabus. This is because unity for all of a nation’s students makes grounds for planners, students, and the whole society to accomplish well. However, planners should assign some space for the states separately to instill a state identity in each person.

To begin with, a national curriculum is needed because of preserving the integrity of the education all around a nation. Such an integrity further guarantees both the educational and economic future of the students. Having learned a standard national curriculum, students attain certifications allowing them to further their education in whatever state they find proper, right after high school. Otherwise, every state’s university might recommends different educational resume. Then, with every inconsistency, students might be needed to start over some units in order to apply to other state’s universities.

Furthermore, Colleges and universities also are much more ready to direct the education of those with the same standard curriculum vitae. Individuals enter the university with nearly the same degree of experience and knowledge. No one is so behind to be pressed by not being ready for heavy concepts of courses, nor is she/he so ahead that the learning process becomes boring for that individual.

By the economic perspective, we can see that such a syllabus indiscriminately provides opportunity for all the students of a country to compete with other states’ students for jobs. Without such a syllabus, employers might be freer to discriminate between those who are native and those who are not by appealing to differences in the applier’s educational resume.

However, some sort of flexibility also is needed not to put aside the role of states in their own educational plan. It is due to public education that students learn some sort of state identity by providing pertaining courses. A nation can thrive accumulatively when people living in each state try to make a contribution to their own state. This happens when people feel belonging to their state via their state identity. Consider the Iranian curriculum which excludes any state history in it. In the north of Iran, Mazandaran, people has a distinctive history. It is not possible yet to integrate the history of Mazandaran in the public knowledge by the education. Consequently, in Mazandaran, provincial identity is waning since the educational system has not taken the need of having the provincial identity into account.

In short, as discussed in the paragraphs, the body of education needs to be nationally standardized. A national curriculum undeniably carries out essential roles required for the integrity of education throughout a nation. Moreover, planners can better make programs for students in a same level of knowledge and experience and students can find jobs more indiscriminately in the other states. Nevertheless, some degree of flexibility is needed to integrate state syllabus to educational curriculum to support the state identity.