“A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

I do not agree that a standardized national curriculum would be the best way to educate students before entering college. Three reasons why it would not work are differing economic contexts, differing ability of students, and restriction of exposure to a variety of careers.

A nation is a huge area and amount of people to try to standardize. America has fifty unique states, each with unique settings throughout. Cultural differences abound throughout a nation, as well as differences in career opportunities. For instance, living in a more populous area allows for easier access to internships in business and in human services, while living in a more rural area affords more opportunities to learn agriculture and farming skills. A standard national curriculum could attempt to focus on all different types of careers, but generalizing the curriculum could easily cause it to lose substance. A curriculum which exposes students to a variety of career options and skills but focuses on the ones which are most applicable in the area that the school is in would focus the curriculum for a school while also allowing those who wish not to be on that particular career path to find something they prefer.

Just like states, students come in all shapes and sizes. I once attended a speech from a blueberry salesman trying to help reform a school as a successful business. A teacher raised their hand and asked, "do you use only the best blueberries in your product?" The salesman replied that of course he did. The teacher went on to say, "here at a school, we must accept all kinds of students. We do not teach only the best, we teach everyone." Schools must adapt to differing ability of students, and a standardized national curriculum would fall short. Adaptation and flexibility of a curriculum is necessary to afford the best opportunity to all students.

College is the ultimate opportunity for a student to learn. It is a commitment to learn all one can about one's chosen career. A student who has had a cookie-cutter education will most likely not know what they want to do when they graduate high school. A curriculum must have variety to show what it is possible to do in college. Having one standardized curriculum will restrict the variety of careers students are exposed to. This connects with the first point about unique settings and career opportunities in a school's local context. Students should be exposed to a wide variety of careers so that they may find the one that they would like to have for the rest of their life. Every person deserves a chance to do what they want to do, and not being exposed to enough careers could mean never finding out what one wants to do.

In conclusion, a standard national curriculum would not afford equal opportunities to all students. It would ignore cultural and locational differences in career opportunities, as well as restricting the variety of careers students are exposed to. It would also be difficult to adapt to the differing skill levels of students. For these reasons, curriculums should be made to fit their context and be able to adapt to afford the best possible education to all students.