A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The statement claims that a country should require all the students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. I fully disagree with such a statement, as different parts of a nation may have their specific situations and a uniform national curriculum may not meet various demands of different areas.

Admittedly, promoting a national curriculum helps educational department to have uniform administration over the country. Such a national curriculum enables educational officials to set same evaluation system to its students. In this way, it will certainly mitigate the pressure on these officials to evaluate students’ academic performance. On the contrary, if different schools or areas have their own curriculums, they will have their own evaluation system, which may cause difficulty for the departments or firms outside these areas to objectively evaluate the students.

However, such a national program may also result in several problems over students. As we all know, within a big country like China, the economic development is various from different places, for example, people who live in the east coastal areas of China have already reach at the living standards of some developed countries, while people in western part of China may are still in poor living conditions. Under this circumstances, students in different areas may have different backgrounds, which affect their ability to learn new things. Therefore, a national curriculum which is promoted over the country may be too hard for students in poor areas but too easy for students in rich places where student can have access to knowledge and information when they are young.

In addition, a national curriculum is not flexible, if some part of the curriculum need to be adjusted as time goes by. As well all know, with the development of modern society, the knowledge students receive should also be updated to meet the latest development in the scientific world. If a country follows a national curriculum, it is hard to change the curriculum in a

In sum, although it is easy for the educational department officials to give a standard evaluation of the student with the promotion of a national curriculum, it certainly can not balance the needs of students in poor and rich areas. Therefore, I contend the statement is unacceptable.