A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

A nation should not require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. The uniformed standard and material imply that all of the students are all the same and the way teacher lecturing is the same, but they are not. In addition to neglecting differences in teaching and learning style will stifle creativity and create a generation of drones. The uniformity would also lend itself to governmental meddling the curriculum that could result in the destruction of democracy. If all teachers are forced to teach certain context, government just need to change the context, and a whole generation will be misinformed. Lastly, standardized curriculum would also affect adversely to students come from lower income families or families who have little education as they might not have as many resource for learning outside of school.

Children all learn in very different ways. If the curriculum is standardized completely, it leaves little rooms for exploratory learning. One child may learn how to spell from reading, another may learn from phonics. If the curriculum is standardized, suppose one aspect is dropped, that may exclude certain children from learning adequately. Besides, teacher also have different methods of teaching; if say, the English curriculum of all high schools were standardized, then a book that one teacher teaches excellently and therefore inspire students to learn more and learn on their own might be eliminated, and although that teacher ought to be capable enough to teach the curriculum books, his or her students will still be missing out on what might have been a great learning experience. It also limits how much a teacher’s unique knowledge he or she can bring to classroom. It is these inspirational books or experiences that allow teachers to reach students; if they are all put in mold, the quality of teaching and learning will go down.

Learning should be enjoyable and children and adolescent should be taught not only the curriculum in the school, but that the body of knowledge of the world is enormous and that you can learn your whole life. Having a national curriculum implies that there is a set group of things worth learning for every person. Maybe it is true, but for students, it sets up a world where there is a finite amount of knowledge to be acquired for the purpose of regurgitating it on a test. Teaching a standard curriculum doesn’t encourage inquiries; it doesn’t make students ask questions like, “Why?” and “How?” School’s real purpose is teaching people to learn, not just teaching them a set group of facts. By teaching them to learn, students can continue doing so, they can extent skills from one area to another. This type of learning fosters creativity that can be used not only in math or science or English, but in art in music or creative writing. Teaching a brain to go beyond being a file cabinet for facts is the best way teaching creativity. Creativity is too often assumed to be something only for the arts. It is creativity that results in innovation and it is creativity that has resulted in the greatest achievements of humanity in the sciences and the humanities alike.

Finally, the education system should put all the children on the same level. Though this is only an ideal, but it is a noble ideal. If the school curriculum is standardized, children who have highly educated parents, or more money to buy books outsides of school, or more resources for tutor or private schools will immediately gain a foothold. Poorer students from uneducated families in the current America education system are already at a disadvantage, but at least there is a hope through variety that something can reach out to them and inspire them. There is hope that they can find a class that interest them. If the curriculum become standardized and rigid, it is these student who fall through the cracks.

There are many reasons not to standardize the curriculum. The uniqueness of teachers and students is the most obvious, but students from less educated backgrounds will suffer the most. The creativity of a nation as a whole would fall with standardized curriculum. What importantly though is the question of who and what? Who choose the curriculum? What is important enough that it must be taught? These question assume that there is some infallible committee that can foresee all and know what knowledge will be important in everyone’s lives. There is no person, no group, no committee capable of deciding what knowledge is necessary. Curriculum should have standards, not be standardized and education should be as much about knowledge as it about learning to learn.