A Nation Should Require All Of Its Students To Study The Same National Curriculum Until They Enter College

The statement argue that all students should be required with the same curriculum before tertiary education. I think, though national curriculum has some benefits it has more drawbacks which we must pay attention to and render the policy largely unacceptable.

To begin with, a national curriculum would help students to transfer their schools. When students leave their familiar schools and study at a brand new place, he/she is likely to bear great pressure and may be painstaking to adapt to the new environment. However, if the student could take the same courses, he/she would just continue his/her study, thus finding things much easy to deal with. For developing countries where intense urbanization is taking place, the merit would be even more salient. The national curriculum keeps population mobilization smooth because families do not need to worry about their children's learning problem.

What is more, same curriculum would help government to set up a fair exam system to evaluate the performance of both students and teachers. Last but not least, the policy may be economical for government since it saves local government lots of fiscal expenditures to discuss their curriculums. Additionally, with the help of economy of scale, which indicates that a national policy can be more effective since it could allocate national resources one time,it could be an effective policy.

However, we should also be aware of the drawbacks of the policy. First, the statement is largely based on an unwarranted assumption that a nation has legitimacy to control the curriculum, or the course students should take, thus intervening their personal development. However, the students with clear career plan and sound judgment should make his/her own decision without the parenting of their schools or nation. The government, on the other hand, should respect the right of free choice for studens. In this sense, the statement would be more reasonable if a nation only encourage students to take certain courses which the government or expert deems as important, but the decision should made by students themselves. For instance, a student who has both ambition and aptitude to become a pianoist may not want to take complicated algebra courses. Under this circumstance, the requirement would hamper his/her choice and largely inlegitimate.

What is more, the statement ignore another important fact that a nation may not be so homigenized. Hence, a national curriculum is likely to fail since it cannot take all the provinces into account. Take Canada as an example. students from Quebec and Ontario apparently has different culture backgrounds, English and France, thus local government may hope to devote more time and effort to teach students more about their own languages, cultures and geographical knowledges. A national curriculum is unlikely to take needs of both provinces into account, thus likely to be rejected.

To sum up, though in certain scenarios when the policy encouraging instead of requiring the same curriculum might be counducive when the population mobility is frequent, a national curriculum is largely unacceptable because it fails to take varieties all over the nation into account and largely unlegitimate.