A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

A nation should require all students to study the same curriculum until they enter college. Having the same national curriculum established at every school will allow for less variability among students, and it will be beneficial for transfer students. This will also present an opportunity for students to be better prepared for college academics, which lie ahead of them.

If each student in the country studies under the same curriculum and is raised to the same expectations, students can be more easily compared to each other when entering college. Universities look at a variety of aspects of a student’s profile, such as test scores, academic performance and extracurriculars. Having the same national curriculum can reduce the variability among students, and set an even playing field. All students would be given the same opportunity to prove themselves in academia, thus colleges and universities would be able to make admissions decisions easier than ever before. There will be no excuses for students who are “unprepared” for college because they each had to study the same curriculum.

With the same course of study as everyone else in the country, a student who must transfer or move to a new school, for various reasons, is able to pick up exactly where he/she left off. There is no worry in the student’s mind as to if he/she is behind his/her peers. This makes for a smoother and easier transition from school to school.

Geographic location throughout the country may affect certain classes that are offered at each school. For example, at a high school near the coast in Florida, they may offer a variety of marine biology or related classes because of their location. In Idaho, a high school may offer classes that have to do with agriculture and the environment. This may seem beneficial, but it is ultimately hindering students’ abilities to find their passion and their future field of study for college. If a student from Idaho is interested in marine biology, but is not offered such courses, they are prevented from an opportunity that someone in Florida may have. If everyone in the country were offered the same variety of classes, from agriculture and farming to marine biology, each student will have the same favorable circumstances.

In conclusion, offering the same curriculum nation-wide, has a plethora of benefits to its students. The current students in our society are the future employees that will one day make up our work force. Allowing a better future for these students now, will make for a smooth-running society later.