A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Today, some students graduate from high school unable to understand, let alone manage, the basics of their savings and financial matters because they lacked a proper math education during their high school years. Others still have graduated from high school while facing serious problems in writing and communication. The statement claims that all students should take the same national curriculum until they enter college. I agree with the statement for several reasons.

First, a national curriculum would ensure that all high school students have a similar level of preparation for college and for starting their career in the job market. We no longer would have to worry about our students not having an adequate enough math or language preparation as they come out of high school. This is because the national curriculum would have provided them with the math and language skills required for college or the job market. South Korea epitomizes how a national curriculum can help high school students. South Korea imposes a strict national curriculum on all high school students. As result, 99% of South Korean students graduate from high school while being qualified for admission into high ranking universities all over the world. Therefore, a national curriculum would prepare our students for study and job opportunities.

Nonetheless, we must also acknowledge that a national curriculum might limit the students' creativity and autonomy in choosing to study the subjects they are most interested in learning about. Definitely, not all students would want to be engineers or medical physicians. And, I absolutely agree that students need to be given some freedom in selecting and pursuing the subjects that they are most passionate about. But, I do not think that we need to choose between mandating a national curriculum and respecting the students' autonomy. The reason is that a national curriculum need not be a comprehensive one, taking all of our students' study time.

I would argue for a national curriculum that only requires a minimum amount of competence in math and language as to prepare students for dealing with the basic math involved in managing their personal finances, but, at the same time, leaves students with enough time to pursue other subjects - such as arts, philosophy, and sociology. As such, students would graduate from high school while not only able to discern the mathematics involved in moving forward with their career, but also having explored different subjects that might be of interest to them, enabling them to make an informed decision regarding their college finances and major.

To conclude, I argued that a national curriculum is necessary to build the math and language skills that students need to succeed, but that such a curriculum should also allow students to pursue other subjects according to their preferences.