Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

In todays's scenario, most of the states have very little amount vegetation remaining. Due, to this convservation of forests and other vegetation have received considerable momentum in the recent years. This effort of conservation would be further strengthened by passing of laws, which considerably help in preserving the remaining wilderness.

Most cities today are affected by the problems of poor quality of air, which not only makes breathing and living difficult, but, in addition causes a plethora of respiratory problems. This can be attributed to the fact that in these cities people were more concerned about the economic gain rather than preserving the wilderness. As a result, today most cities have reached to such a juncture that recovering the wilderness have become our topmost priority. This is because, the forests help in clearing the air of dust and moreover supply oxygen which is essential for the survival of human beings. Now, as we destroy the trees and other vegetation, we are basically depleting our supply of oxygen. Now, economic gain is useless when the very existence of human life is threatened. Thus, it is very much essential to preserve the wilderness as much as possible. Moreover, passing of laws by the nations will further aid in preservation of the natural vegetation.

Moreover, it is not true that economic gain can only be achieved by clearing wilderness and building structures. Various plants and trees from the wilderness are also responsible huge economic gains. A simple example would be Chincona tree, which is a medicinal plant found in the wild. It is very much useful in making anti-malarial medicines. Hence, these medicines not only give monetary benifit but also offers something even more priceless, i.e., ability to save the fellow human lives. Thus, clearing the vegetation indiscriminately would lead to the extinction of several such trees which have a potential in production of several life saving medications. Thus, passing of laws will aid in the preservation of similar trees whose potential is yet to be determined.

But again, this cannot be true for all nations. For countries that are very poor they might be having a surplus amount of forests in their areas. Thus, in those countries preservation would not aid much. Thus, considering those cases, it would rather wise to clear a certain amount of vegetation for economic gain. But again, there remains an ambiguity so as to what amount of vegetation can be cleared for economic gain.

Thus, in short, considering today's scenario it is important for passing laws which aid in preservation of the wilderness. Because, the wilderness gives us something that outweighs all economic benefits, existence.