Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

The statement poses a positive stance that we should protect the environment instead of utilizing the land for the economic purpose. The economy is important based on the very fact that it is hard to live a good life without money. This dilemma is prominent especially in the developing country where people there remain poor and are struggling for daily life. Thus, it is necessary to scrutinize scrupulously on the detail.

Firstly the most prevalent issue in this quagmire is global warming. Since the industrial revolution, human beings are able to harness natural resources with machine power, and thus, myriads of innovation help to produce all kinds of products and not only satisfy human needs but also the vast majority can live a better life. Unfortunately, the mechanized power has its side-effect. By using fuel or coal as sources, it emits a huge amount of carbon dioxide in the same time, which is one of the main greenhouse gasses that contributes to global warming.

Global warming is one of the primary threat for human races in this century. As scientists indicated, if the air temperature increases 2 Celsius, the process of global warming won’t be able to reverse, resulting in irremediable disaster, and the truth is that we are actually nearly on the verge of breaking point. Considering the survival of human races, I don’t think it is judicious to do more harm to a natural area for the economy.

Secondly, assume an extreme case what if all of the wild areas were to be razed in replacement of land for economy usage. The landscape would become literally dreary and lifeless. No one would expect to live in such dreary places. In addition, there are lots of nature lover, who enjoy the spectacular view from the power of nature, their human right to visit the wonder will be damaged. To make a compromise, nature itself can also be profitable. For example, the Yosemite National Park, in the Unite State, attracts millions of travelers from all over the world and creates huge revenue can be used to protect the environment.

Thirdly, there are still a lot of species and myths in the forest remain unknown for the scientists to unravel. Exploiting those wild land for the economy purpose is short-sighted. It is said that there are high chances that some of the substances within those unknown species would be the key to inventing new medicine to cure some human diseases such as cancer or AIDS.

To sum up, I strongly agree with the statement to protect the nature from the economic purpose for the following purpose. From the security perspective, nature is a friend of the human race to defy against global warming. From medication point of view, nature can be a key to helping in remedying human disease. Moreover, I don’t want to live in a world without magnificent natural spectacle, and it is excruciating boredom without nature.