In order for any work of art—for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song—to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning f or the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

To me, any work of art should be clear and understandable for most of the people. However, that recondite works are without merits is a bit of unfair generalization.

First, artists usually use their works to show their concerns and feelings about eclectic subjects prevalent in the society or in the world, such as war and peace, love and hatred, poverty and affluence, social issues, and equally to raise the general knowledge of people and arouse their feelings about these subjects. Being usually inoffensive, tacit, and soft, the language of art can be effectual and impressive more than any other kind of language. Thus, considering these characteristics, any kind of work that is obscure to majority of people, mostly fails to fulfill its goals.

Second, apart from art works' influence on public opinion about significant matters, they usually serve to please the observers' sense of beauty and give them pleasure, or to amuse and excite them. A great number of people usually visit exhibitions and art galleries to enjoy and appreciate the beauty of paintings or photographs, and to admire the meticulousness and talents of the artists. However when observers feel that they cannot understand the meaning and the thought behind the art works, not only they do not enjoy, but also they get frustrated and bored, and most likely they will never ever visit them again. Thus, repelling majority of people can be a great disadvantage for enigmatic and mind twisting works.

On the other hand, puzzling fine arts, or even performing arts and literature, containing complex conceptual meanings, are not devoid of intelligence or merit. They usually pursue higher purposes by conveying abstract and confounding ideas such as philosophical ones. For instance, Sophie's World by Jostein Gaarder might not be to the taste of everyone; however, it is subtly explaining the history of philosophy, and philosophical concepts such as the meaning of life. This kind of masterpieces will only appeal to a particular class of people including professionals, and intellectuals; nevertheless, they are normally edifying and enriching for knowledgeable persons and subsequently for the society.

To sum, any work of art that is more understandable for audience or readership will engross more people and will be more effectual, whereas esoteric creations are only enjoyable by erudite ones.