As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The 21st century is a distinctive era when technology is virtually ubiquitous. As presented in the issue, with people rely increasingly more on it, the inevitable deterioration of human’s ability to think for themselves. However, in thinking of the ways in which technology serves humans, it is safe to say technology has never prevented people from thinking; rather, it has promoted it.

As not all activities need thinking to be involved, the technology that aims to free humans from these activities will therefore not curtail people’s ability to think. For example, do you need to think in order to conduct simple actions such as walk and run? Certainly not. In the same vein, transport devices, invented to replace walking long distance, do not require people to think as they are merely a tool for you to save time. They are like human’s “super legs” and help people to walk faster while no need for much work from the brain. People have been increasingly relying on transport devices; yet, their ability of thinking for themselves has never been diminished on account of it.

Instead of weakening, technology has promoted people to think more actively. In any field, today’s competition is largely dependent on how technology is effectively used. To achieve this, one has to strive to keep up with the faster-than-ever changing and updating of the modern technology, which requires constantly integrate new technology into the field. This is a process of analyzing and manipulating different kinds of technology to serve one’s certain purposes, which undoubtedly needs people to think and subsequently enhance the ability of thinking.

On the other hand, as technology has provided the solutions to many problems, one will worry that people will just go with technology and not bother to think of any solutions by themselves. However, given the fact that problems in the real world is endless, though being freed from some of them, people still face many other problems that are not yet resolved by technology, to name a couple: AIDS and pollution. Modern technology helps us focus our attention and thinking on the problems waiting to be solved. Since there are always new ones, humans will never cease to think and therefore the ability of thinking will not deteriorate.

In conclusion, the use of technology has brought about both benefits and harmful effects. Nevertheless, it does not cause the ability of humans think for themselves to decline.