As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technological advances bring convenience into the human life which leads to enhanced usage of and dependency upon technology. What is brought up as a question is whether technology leads to improved or deteriorated rumination. The opponents of solving any problem with technology will relate the effects of technology on children to reject the idea that the ability to think has improved as a result of using advanced technology. However, a thorough assessment of the situation substantiates that the merits outweigh the demerits of advanced technology as to the ability of contemplation.

Facing with diverse, complicated, and advanced equipment in everyday life and in professional cases requires the ability to use devices appropriately, which in turn needs human intelligence. The houses, laboratories, factories, and all offices are equipped with a spate of high-tech instruments driven by human. No matter how cutting-edge the devices are, the human-kind employs them. One may decide not to use the devices but he should be wary of the unsatisfactory outcome. But the one who uses the technology contemplates how to get his desired outcome by appropriate employment of every implement. For example, an office staff should be familiar with the operations of a computer, printer, and a copy machine to accomplish his task properly.

Additionally, learning how to set up a device is mind-challenging. Through the process of training and acquiring new knowledge, human is constantly improving his brain’s ability to deliberate. Every new lesson is a prerequisite for the next one or requires some qualification beforehand, thereby recalling the previous knowledge and thinking deeply on the relation of the different subjects together. This is how human organs are stored and kept operational in organ bank by knowing about the engineering of the lab devices and considering biological rules, such as the possible temperature and conditions that can keep the organs sound.

Another important proof that technological advances expand the mind’s ability to ponder is the process of improving and inventing a device. An inventor can only create a new implement if he thinks profoundly on the extant equipment and the human needs. In fact, new inventions are produced to make the life easier and the new ones need more contemplation to be improved. The diversity in productions of motorized vehicle factories is a clear example of new inventions that come true through deep understanding of human needs. The vehicles and machinery can be utilized for people and goods transportation, agriculture, and the like. Even the farm machinery is so diverse in kind with higher efficiency that can illustrate the human initiative in generating new ones to solve problems.

Along with all advantages of technology, it has also damaging effects on human lifestyle and his environment. Sedentary lifestyle that escalated many diseases such as obesity and heart attacks, and global warming and air pollution as a result of fossil fuel consumption are considered as the most important negative impacts of new technologies. Nonetheless, any problem engendered by technological progress can be solved by the technology itself. New and easy to access sporting accessories have made it facile to exercise everywhere. As to the contaminating effects of technology, researchers have found renewable and green resources of energy that can replace fossil fuels. All these solutions are considered as initiatives that require deep thought as well.

All in all if one weighs the advantages and disadvantages of technology on human lifestyle, one soon realizes that any progress in technology leads to a better ability in thinking deeply. As a matter of fact, using scientific knowledge to invent new tools or to improve the ones that exist, utilizing and training to employ the new equipment properly to reach the desired goals and convenient lifestyle and occupation can ameliorate the brain ability to reflect.