As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technology has benefitted humans from accomplishing daily errands to stepping on the moon. The convenience brought by such technology has raised a discussion whether overly relying on the devices is detrimental for the ability of humans to think for themselves. Despite the seemingly I strongly believe that technology has actually advanced the cognitive and problem-solving ability of humans.

Admittedly, it is difficult to deny that some of handy devices we use on a daily basis have affected our thinking ability, especially in terms of memorization and calculation. As people become able to keep most of any information in their smart phones, they tend to rely on their devices, rather than memorize themselves. It would not be surprising even if a person cannot remember any of her family member’s phone number. Moreover, people tend to rely on handy electronic devices, which are available at almost any places, whenever they need to do tedious calculations. Pointing out what have been discussed, some people argue that technology has been detrimental for humans’ ability to think for themselves.

Nevertheless, it would be presumptuous to come to a conclusion only by considering the limited aspects of technology usage of human beings. Technology actually availed us to see what we have not been able to recognize with our bare eyes, and, in turn, stimulated our curiosity. When it comes to quantum physics, as technology advances, scientists become able to detect infinitesimal particles, such as electrons and protons. Such findings not only simply opened a new era of science, but also galvanized scientists to cast more questions and have heated discussion over the formation of the world. Thus, relying on technology can assist our cognitive ability and encourage us to think further.

Moreover, by utilizing technology, we can more actively engage ourselves in a decision-making process. When data collection skill remained at an incipient stage, even well versed statisticians could only guess the impending future. However, as information technology improves people can collect more comprehensive and correct data and analyze according to the purpose. This enabled us not only to engage more in problem solving process but also to draw a conclusion with a higher confidence. This also shows that relying on technology does not necessarily mean the lower possibility of using human thinking ability.

To sum, although some may say that people tend not to use their ability to think for themselves as they rely on technology, I strongly disagree with that since technology has actually increased the chances of using our ability to think. The fact that technology enabled us to see what we have not seen ignited our curiosity of the world, and that availability of more data and analyzing tool encouraged us to engage in decision making process more actively.