As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

In school we were taught about the three basic necessities of life- Food, Shelter & Clothing. But I ask this question to myself “ Is that it?”. Of course not! The list needs to be broad with one more necessity, which is “Technology”. Every human, from students to professionals rely on technology. I agree that in this competitive and burgeoning world, the use of technology is must but using it to an errant level can definitely deteriorate the ability of human thinking.

Let us look first at the downfalls of depending on technology. Well, using technology in every aspect as possible is definitely remarkable but the question is “Do we really need it?” . Today even primary grade students are found using calculators to perform the basic mathematical operations. Well yes of course it does give you the precise and no-doubt correct answers. But solving basic mathematics by your own is more beneficial to the development of one’s mind and also emphasizes on the thinking ability of a person. So if even the primary grade students are found using calculators then the future of the world definitely will have people with great technical knowledge but poor thinkers and analysers.

On the other hand, technology has proven beneficial in finding errors and making the result or product much better than it ever was. For example, Earlier in the match of cricket it was sometimes difficult to judge for an Umpire on an appeal made by the Bowler or Batsman. And eventually sometimes it did result in a wrong decision. But today with the help of technology , following the appeal made by the player, the Umpire can easily take the help of 3rd Umpire who with the help of high definition cameras can give a more accurate decision. Well today not only in sports but the technology has a great impact on country’s defence, bank accounts, communication, etc. So dependence on technology is definitely important in this world.

Every industry today demands employees that are “smart” . Well the definition of “smart” is having the knowledge of technology along with intellectual skills. Playing piano manually and playing in a DAW(Digital Audio Workstation) is entirely different. Well yea I agree that most of the prominent musicians today use the DAW for music production. But the prior knowledge of manually playing piano is important. A music is no good when it results in randomly hitting notes in the DAW and making a melody. One should know how an engine works before using that engine.

In the end, technology and intellectuality in equal amounts is more beneficial than depending entirely on technology as total dependence on technology only deteriorates the thinking and analysing ability of a person.