As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is human's nature to look for shortcuts. The evolution of human society and the development of technology are both motivated by this human characteristic. From ancient time to the information era now, people overcome the severe environment by inventing new tools and technologies, and utilize them to ameliorate the surroundings to make the world a better place for living. In my opinion, technology is not only making our lives easier but also stimulating people to explore the world and find solutions for more complicated problems. Hence, I partially disagree on the statement since though people are relying more on technology, it does not absolutely deteriorate human's ability to think.

From a historical perspective, technology is pushing the society moving forward like the engine to an automobile. From the several significant steps in the development of human history, one can observe the paramount role that technology takes. Frist of all, the invention of lighters provides the nessecity for human race to survive in frezzing winter and enjoy cooked food to avoid deadly virus. The emergement of this technology is based on the basic needs of human race so that people are urged to invent tools to make fire fast and easily. From this point of view, though people are relying more and more on such basic inventions as lighters, bulbs, wells, microwaves and so forth, which are invented by the creative thinking of human, it in turn becomes the strong motivation for people to think further and free people's mind. In addtion, even in our era when the society has been so developed that people are released from tedious and laborous duties, technology is still pushing us to move further as to solve new problems raised by new technologies. Admittedly, one is relying even more on technology nowadays as if technology has become part of life. Consider, for example, will anyone be pleased to live in a society without electricity, the internet, laptops, GPS and washing machines? Apparently, it is difficult for us to give up the cozy life brought by technolgoy. Therefore, when new problems pump up, people have no choice but to solve them by creative thinking which on the other hand make the technology more advance. For instance, when people are first convinced that the Earth is round and only a small part of the universe, scientists started to find ways to explore the outerspace which eventually brought satetilles and space flight into reality. In short, one can find mutual stimulation and benefits between technology and the ability of humans to think for themselves in human history.

Zooming down to a narrow scope, technology is also performing a beneficial role from an individual perspective. Unless living isolated, one, on the one hand, depends on technology for survivial and development; on the other hand, thinks scruplrously and freely to solve problems caused or comes along with the techniques. In this information generation, even primary students know how to use microwave to warm food and use the internet to search for information. Mastering relevent and advance technology becomes an essential skill for one's career path and everyday life. Moreover, people are thinking creatively based on existing technology to solve problems. Take the instance noodles as an example, people have been eating boiled noodels for centuries since it was created. However, a Japanese lady found it unconvenient to take for travelling so that she fried it and made it instant noodles which benefit millions of people in the world. Therefore, even ordinary people can use their creative thinking to solve problems and adopt technologies to enjoy a better life.

Admittedly, people are indeed depending on technologies for daily living and professional work. Nonetheless, technology never hampers the ability of humans to think instead it releases people from repeative work to spend more time on crucial and complicated problems and thus making the world a nicer and better place.