As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take.

Technology does not hinder the critical thinking ability of human beings but provides new challenges for humans to solve. It poses mankind with new issues to resolve, meanwhile helping us to live a better life.

Technology has brought people closer. Now scientists located thousands of miles apart can collectively work on challenges of the future and discover new solutions. Technology has reduced the amount of time it is required to communicate information from one corner of the world to another, so that key decisions could be taken quickly. The usefulness of this technological advancement can be very much seen in Stock Exchanges where every minute is important.

Every advancement elicits a new challenge which again needs great minds to think of new solutions. As we improved our means of travel by making time taken to cover distances lesser, the pollution caused due to burning of fuel aroused. Once again thinkers around the work have put their thinking caps to deal with this issue.

The author may argue that with the invention of mobile phones, people less likely tend to remember phone numbers as compared to earlier. However we should not forget that these technological improvements has reduced the amount of energy needed to invest in petty tasks like remembering numbers or auditing medical records. The time saved from such tasks can now be fruitfully invested in much important tasks like examining patient’s records and curing him from his ailment. Also we must not forget that in the end the expertise of doctor would be required to study the x-ray.

Thus With new technological advancements and growing economy, the need for critical thinkers will not diminish. With every new technological improvement, a need to better it will always arise and that will lead to another technology breakthrough. Hence this is a never ending circle.