As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Human being, by nature, loves easiness and convenience, which both are outcomes of modern technology, and he will take advantage of technology to avoid many arduous tasks, and, unfortunately even trivial ones. This dependency, in long term, will enfeeble our mind, and we will gradually loose our mental power. This is why I believe excessive dependence on technology has detrimental effects on human's ability to think.

These days technology has made our lives much easier, but this convenience has brought with itself many other problems, like limiting our mental abilities. Today, we barely use our brain for doing the most basic calculations, even in ordinary and daily situations like shopping. We simply take out our smart phone, and by a few screen touches, we calculate the price we must pay for the whole groceries we have bought. Technology is also now responsible for memorizing everything we need to remember, such as phone numbers, appointments, friends' birthdays. We hardly feel the necessity to learn directions on roads or highways as we have GPRS. By depriving ourselves of these primary mental activities such as simple calculations or memorizing little information, according to scientists, we are making our brain more and more inactive and lazy, and subsequently incapacitating our thinking ability. Moreover, widespread high-tech entertaining devices such as x-box, or play stations are fettering creative thinking in human beings, and particularly in children who are going through cognitive process and developing their mind and cerebral skills. The more children rely on these computerized entertainments, the less they will have the opportunity to play practical games, like hide and seek; to make simple handicrafts like an origami; or even to paint, which all involve analyzing and creative thinking.

Of course, any progress in technology is mainly based on the human's ability in problem-solving, programming, critical thinking and reasoning. In other words, this is man who takes credit for evolving technical methods and processes; and it is indisputable that soaring technology is somehow indicative of soaring human's overall mental ability. However, only a little portion of world's population, such as computer scientists and technocrats, are engaged in tech-improving programs, and others are only benefiting from high-tech without having to use so much mental effort.

Overall, I believe excessive reliance on technology is culpable for deterioration of human's thinking ability as we are no longer willing to do many tasks, even the ordinary ones, on our own, and this is going to weaken our thinking ability.