As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of

humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is evident that the technology today is expanding so rapidly. This expansion in technology may seem to deteriorate our thinking ability since we are greatly dependent in it for very simple to complex tasks. However, if closely examined, it can be evident that technology has helped us expanding the horizon of our knowledge and has greatly improved our thinking ability.

Firstly, technology has saved extra time for us to think for something challenging and new rather than wasting time for some simple calculation or unproductive work. Let us take an example of a simple calculator which we use daily in our everyday life. The use of this simple machine has allowed us to do simple calculations because of which we are able to save some time for some other task that is more important than the calculation. Calculator is just an example, we are using many other machines that have essentially saved time and have allowed us to think further.

Secondly, the development of technology itself requires the use of brain and intense thinking. It is evident that people in the past had a little access to technology than people now. So, if the use of technology degrade the thinking ability, the development and advancement in the technologies now would be impossible. Had this been true, advancement in technology would have been in a backward direction since; the development of technology itself requires a high level of problem solving and critical thinking.

In addition, Technology has allowed us to share idea among people in the different corners of the world and explore more possibilities by using it. As for an example, we can imagine how difficult it would be for a researcher in Asia to share his ideas with a researcher in America in the 1600s! Because of the advancement in internet technology and phones now one can share his or her idea with other and widen his or her knowledge and thinking. It is of course the technology which has allowed us easy sharing of resources. Technology has indeed made this world narrow and open to resources so that anyone can use the resources to enhance their thinking.

In conclusion, it is clear that dependence in technology has rather saved our time and helped us share ideas rather than deteriorating our thinking ability and it will not be wrong to say that it has enhanced our thinking ability and widen our horizon of knowledge.