People’s attitudes are determined by their immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole.

Society or individual environment, which one influence more to a person’s attitude? For example, when a person who is a heavy drinker, is it because he is living in a society where drinking is common in its culture or because his close friends often drink? The prompt says people’s attitudes are more decided by the immediate surroundings rather than the bigger society as a whole. This sounds plausible, however, it is not necessarily true.

Admittedly, immediate surrounding can become very influential in shaping one’s daily lives. For instance, when the parents or your close friends are interested in Indie music, there is a high possibility that you might try some songs and have a positive opinion about Indie music, even though that is not the mainstream of musical category in the society. Besides,

However, in making a harder and important decisions, people’s attitudes are more influenced by the society as a whole, specifically by social norms. For example, most of people in South Korea chose to go to college since without the college degree, people cannot get a decent job. Therefore, students study hard to go to a good school. Even students who cannot afford to pay for tuition fee, they will think student loan positively to get the degree, which was required in the society.

In sum, people’s attitudes are both determined by individual surroundings and society. However, it seems that more harder and important decisions are more decided by standards in the society where one belongs to.