People’s behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The statement claims that people’s behavior is mainly determined by external forces such as the society. People are social animals and we are raised in a society by certain notions. The claim is therefore reasonable.

How people react to certain circumstances is largely accredited to how they are raised by the society based on the values and beliefs passed on from generations to generations. Take collectivism and individualism for instance. People from China are more reserved and values a group as a whole and tend to disregard individuals’ benefits. By contrast, those from the United States generally value and reward individually for their hard work. The difference in the two type of behaviors is determined by the social values based on which people are raised.

Also, people’s behavior is to a great degree affected by particular circumstances. People oftentimes have their belief on certain things such as sexual orientation and moral standards. However, they do not always show how they feel. In other words, they behave differently due to the external situation. For example, one extremely opposes to same-sex marriage on account of religious beliefs. Nonetheless, he would still congratulate a same-sex couple on their wedding for sake of social appropriateness.

One way argue that people have free wills and decided what to do. For example, being invited to a birthday party, though must study for the exam the next day, one can decide to go to the party or stay at home studying. People make choices like this all the time in daily life. At first glance, people’s behavior is greatly determined by themselves, internal factors. Nevertheless, it is not so. Think of it, people make their decision for certain reasons. As in the aforementioned example, one may decide to go to the party because the birthday girl is her best friend. Though she has to study for the exam, she is obligated to attend the party. Yet, she may decide not to go and believe that study is the priority, which is a belief installed in her by her family and the education system. Though it seems that people decide what to do based on their free will, it is in fact determined by forces of not their own.

In conclusion, people are like a white paper when they are born, the society is the artist. The final panting is what people grow into with all the values and beliefs passed on from generations and educated by the society which is deep-set and determines people’s behavior.