People should undertake risky action only after they have carefully considered its consequences. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take.

In most cases, people should deliberate thoroughly before making a move, especially a risky one. However, there are certain circumstances in which the situation is exigent and people need to act immediately before having any chance to think cautiously. In that case, the statement is too arbitrary and not applicable.

First and foremost, considering the unforeseen consequences that a risky move may bring, anyone should think twice before making a move. There are numerous examples in almost every aspect of our society. In politics, political leaders have to ponder on every detail and possible outcomes before deciding on a new regulation or implementing a reform. As in the business world, entrepreneurs all rack their brains to come up with any new blueprint for the development of their companies; any imprudence may lead to significant consequence in their future prospect and may affect the employees who depend on the companies’ prosperity to make a living.

However, not all situations allow enough time for people to deliberate and weigh the pros and cons before taking actions. In emergency circumstances, people have to come up with a decision quickly, make their best guess and choice, and put them into action. For instance, the catastrophic earthquake in Japan in 2012 caused the breakdown of the nuclear-electrical factory and leakage of dangerous nuclear wastes including x-rays and others. The director had less than seconds to make a decision between either disclose the news to inform the public to evacuate, which may cause serious financial loss of the factory and the country, or to keep it a secret a few hours longer and strive for the maintenance of the factory, which would cause significant hazards to the people living around that area. At that moment, the director chose to save the innocent people and evacuate as many people as possible. This action was risky and was without careful planning, but it was the righteous decision made in the extremely exigent situation.

In sum, by and large, before making risky actions, people should deliberate cautiously. However, when exigent circumstances do not leave much time for thinking, making a move quickly is a must and needs great courage.