People should undertake risky action only after they have carefully considered its consequences.

The greatest risk is not to take any risk at all. Life does not go always in a same routine pace. Sometimes, we need to compromise something to gain or to maintain other things. Those who defuse bombs sometimes are facing the dilemma of whether cut the red wire or the green one. Those lovers who want to marry each other take a risky step as they are stepping into totally new form of life. Every aspect of life has its own risks to take.

To claim that individuals should take risky decisions only after the assessment of the decision’s consequences, as the statement above does, is a tenable assertion. We should consider the alternatives and possible upcoming scenarios before taking the risky decisions. Such a consideration has two main advantages: first, every result will be a tenable one, and secondly, the risky action itself can be done with much more efficiently.

First, if we consider all the consequences, armed with precautions, whatever the results will be, we do not become regretful. Otherwise, some risky decisions can affect our life so badly that cannot be compensated at all. Think about a surgery with the possibility of death. Now, if the operative patient accepts all the consequences before surgery begins by signing a paper, the surgeon has no fear of being sued if the patient died. Otherwise, if the patient dies, the reputation of the doctor might be at stake and he or she might be forfeited of operation for years.

Secondly, if anything goes wrong we have had a strategy to overcome the vicissitudes. Consider the aforementioned dangerous surgery. For example if an artery is cut accidentally, having predicted such an accident, the surgeon does not get shocked. Confidently, he or she can seal the artery with much more efficiency. Otherwise, being shocked at the accidental cut, surgeon would face a much more difficult operation.

However, sometimes, the gravity of the situation makes us to take the risk without any delay and considering all consequences. Consider the American airways flight in which the engines lose power. The pilot landed the airplane despite the high percentage of the sinking airplane into the river as the engines could not propel the air plane to safer places. The airplane was landed quite decently that made time for the nearby boats to rescue all 150 passengers. Had the pilot hesitated for finding the best possible landing, all passengers might have died. Clearly, sometimes we are obliged to just take risks.

In short, indeed we should take risks after weighing all alternatives against each other. First, results might not be tenable if we do not consider all the possibilities. Secondly, we can accomplish the risky work with efficiency. However, there are times that we do not have enough time to consider the whole consequences and just we should take the risky action.