People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In a world filled with a plethora of possibilities, an average human human being is subjected to choose among choices everyday. Ranging from what to eat, what to wear to what job to choose or whom to marry. In real life, decisions are not mathematical deductions. Certain conclusions are drawn based on human emotions at a particular point of time. However, a decision which is based on emotion and is later justified with logic, is a poor decision. A person who follows this methodology will fail in the long run.

First of all, a normal human being has two sides of a brain - the left brain that takes care of logic and the right brain that is responsible for the sentiments that has the cunning ability to swindle him into bad decisions. Decision making is a critical skill that any person should have. Whether big or small, the decisions are obviously going to affect certain things in his life. It is therefore wise to take a decision based on logical reasoning rather than emotions of the right brain. For instance, consider Maria who is married to John. They had a huge turmoil in the recent past due to John's frequent indulgence in lottery. At the end of the diatribe, Maria chose to divorce John as she was infuriated by his habits. Here, her right brain overpowered her left brain and hence she made the decision. If we analyse this deeply, it was an argument that lead to anger, which in turn, led to a bad decision. Just because John had a profligate nature doesn't mean he is a bad person. After all, they were married for a reason. Maria didn't deliberate over the amazing life she has with him and anger blinded her logic. Later, even if she justifies this decision by stating that John squanders wealth, it is still a poor decision to take at that point of time. She should have waited for a year or so, observe, think and then arrived at a decision instead of later trying to subterfuge a whimsical decision.

Secondly, forcing a logic on a precipitous decision is totally wrong and inherently illogical. This is because, it is blatantly a failure method. Let us illustrate this claim with the following case. Consider Alice and Diana who are best friends since high school. Alice is the topper while Diana is an average student. They both are neighbors too. Both of them wanted to pursue graduation in medicine. They took the required examinations where the Alice scored much higher than Diana. As a result, she got admits from the top med schools of the country while Diana got admitted into the state's med school that ranks below top 20. Alice, being highly emotional, decided to go with Diana to her school. Later, she justified it by stating that she didn't want the pressure of studying somewhere outside her state. Here, as we could observe, Alice is being totally illogical with her justification. Had she thought of this before, she wouldn't even have applied to the top schools. She took an emotional decision and tried to mask it with some irrational logic. This is going to affect her career in huge ways.

Finally, decision making is the process of analyzing all the possible alternatives or course of actions and deciding to choose the best one among them. If such a process is subjected to emotional bias, chances are high that the results will be poor and unjust as well. For example, consider Thomas who is the judge of the state court. One fine day, there was a case of robbery in the city and the robber was brought to be charged. This robber was Thomas's nephew. What is the best decision here? Thomas should choose to go with the law and penalize his nephew, who is a miscreant, without considering the familial values. On the other hand, if Thomas, being the highest authority of the state, chose to find some loophole and save his nephew from the case with very less or no punishment, it is unethical in the face of law. This is actually one of the major reasons why family is not allowed in a law or medical situation. In such cases, logically justifying an unjust emotional decision is ignoble.

Thus, we can conclude that any decision should be based on analysis, deliberations and facts, rather than emotions. An emotional decision should not be immediately put into action as it would lead to unfruitful, or even disastrous results. Such decisions should still be analyzed with logic and then finalized. Emotions should lie dormant when logic speaks!