People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Decision making is a cardinal task to admonish. Before making any decision about the trivial or crucial issues in life we should always think about every possible aspects of the issue logically and practically. I agree with the author's stand about the poor decision makers quality of not considering the logic at start.

We can consider an example by broaching a situation of war. There are abysmal effects of bad decision making in war like attacking first which could look like a apropos decision at start if we think emotionally but proves out to be an illogical step at the end. But by that time there is no use of understanding the severeness of our wrong or bad decision. This effect could have been attenuated if the decision was made more logically than emotionally.

But let me point out a situation in which thinking emotionally also proves out to be delighting. If we give some money to beggar for having food, at that time it might look illogical because that person could work and earn money and we have just provisioned him to not work and have food. But may be down the line when he comes in his senses by having some food and into a normal healthy situation he will think of working and producing for himself. So there are some situations where thinking emotionally is also required.

My stand would still be with the authors claim that in most of the situations we have to think logically before amalgamating any conclusion based on emotions. Sometimes you can be a victim of chicanery if you don't think logically before decision making. If a property dealer blandishments about some nice beautiful aspects about the house which is forcing you to buy the house but you are kept away from the details about the surrounding pollution generating industries near the house. You have to think logically for such kind of decisions.

In conclusion, I would say that decision making is really a crucial process which should always be an outcome of proper logical thinking unless in some situation a bliss of emotional thinking is also required.