People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

people's behavior is the way they act in response to certain situation or stimuli. Such responses are either conscious or unconscious. In both forms, there are lots of factors playing in the decision making process of an individual and still it is remained as an open controversial debate whether it is people who are determining their behavior , which is freedom based belief, or it is deterministic and they are victim of the situation. After all, Although in unconscious behavior forces from without control it,In conscious behavior,I believe, it is people themselves who are the determinant factor not forces not of their own making.

To begin with, we arise from a total instinctive behavior to more conscious behavior when we develop reasoning faculty in showing conscious behavior. As an infancy we begin to cry when we feel hunger, so certain behaviors are preprogrammed in us. Furthermore, some of our unconscious behavior in adulthood are still determined by nature and we usually cannot control them. For instance when our eyes is exposed to intense light, it closes, or when we feel cold we naturally begin to tremble.

However, when it go further than unconsciousness with the power of will we can recognize people as the ultimate determiner of their behavior. When we get older from our infancy, we began to do things more consciously, and we began to judge and analyze our behavior before doing them. In last cases, there was no space for judging and control our behavior; in our infancy the reasoning faculty of mind has not taken shape, and when we feel cold, it is the body itself that trembles without necessary involving the brain and conscious decision.

People are ultimate determiner because of their reasoning faculty and their judgment and they are responsible for their conscious behavior. Consider law system. In law system along with interrogating an act, the reason and intention behind the act is equally important and can draw a distinction for one to be alive or be condemned to death. For example if an aggressive behavior has led to someone's death, the perpetrator of killing can be acquitted if he or she was intended to defend himself or herself. Hence there are reasons and judgments behind all adult conscious behavior that they are responsible for their reason and judgment.

Now, we reached to the point that it is our judgment that makes our behavior and not the forces from without, but what shapes our judgment? Consider the case of Hugon. Statistical experiments attested that those men who possess XYY chromosomes, are significantly more likely to assume aggressive behavior. Having known this fact, the lawyers of the Hugon-convict of a murder case in Paris-raised the issue of the XXY chromosome abnormality by contending that Hugon was incompetent to stand trial because of the genetic defect. The court appointed a panel of experts to determine his competency. Although Hugon received a diminished sentence of seven years, He was tried and he was known as convict. People are thus the determinant factor for their own behavior and they are responsible for their behavior no matter how much they are prone to do it genetically.

In sum, people's behavior is consisted of conscious and unconscious. In the unconscious part it is the forces from without that rule people's behavior like reflexes to intense light. But when it comes to conscious behavior, no matter how much other factor play their part, people's reason and judgment is behind their behavior and they are responsible for their behavior.