People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

How can a person decide how to behave in public? Should they behave to please themselves? Or should they behave to please others? It is widely observed that a person’s behavior is highly characterized by the people around him. It depends on the thought that what will people think of them if they behave in a particular manner and it is very slightly based on their own wish or liking. Thus, I would totally agree with the author’s claim.

A person’s behavior should always be punctilious but in doing so he or she should not be faking it just to please other people. A very common example of this can be seen in schools and colleges. Many students just to be a part of a so called cool group of other students try to behave like them even if they are uncomfortable in doing so. They start faking their accent, start treating their teachers with disrespect just because other students think that is cool. By doing so, they are only putting their reputation in jeopardy. Hence, parents should make sure that their child is not the one suffering from this and teachers should keep an eye on students so that they don’t take any wrong step.

While in some cases even if people’s behavior is influenced by the masses it is justified. Consider an employee who has gone for a very big event and is surrounded by great achievers of his same field. Here the employee’s behavior can be characterized by the people around him because there is opportunity for him getting promoted or even getting a better job. The employee will try and behave just like others so that everyone thinks that he is one of their kind and this will result in having a good first impression of him on others.

Thus, a person’s behavior should not be determined by the masses. He should be firm in making the decision without thinking how other people will think about it. But sometimes and only sometimes following a herd of sheep is also important.