People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Human is the most sensitive creature in this world, who easily gets influenced by external forces looming around. There are many factors that affect the behavior of people like the society they live in, their upbringing and many more to list. At the same time, it is an individual who has been gifted with the power of thinking. He is at full liberty of making a choice about his own behavior without coming under any pressure.

Thoughts are the driving agents of our behavior, and these thoughts spring from the surrounding atmosphere in which we live. As for instance, in many countries laws are enforced that restrict people to throw garbage any where except at a dedicated place. Now, this is something very positive for any society. Here, an external force comes into picture which not only compels people to behave in a dignified manner, but also helps them become responsible individuals.

Conversely, I also think that sometimes behavior of people is not at all influenced by any external force. For example, crime is a punishable offence in every country. Still, there is no nation where criminals don't exist. In spite of knowing that their actions can harm them to a considerable extent, people do commit crime. Such folks are undeterred by anything and are solely responsible for their behavior.

To conclude, behavior is the offspring of our thought process. Though thoughts are highly influenced by our surrounding nature, still it is an individual who is the sole owner of his behavior. We are the most intelligent species in this world and no power can restrict us from deciding our own course of action. It is just the situation that plays a pivotal role in the behavior of people.