People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

The influence of forces on an individual’s behaviour has been a matter of discussion since a long time. On one hand, there is a strong belief on "Karma" creating circumstances and affecting people's belief and behaviour, and on the other hand, there is a growing evidence of how social, political, economic, or even biological factors elicit behavioral response of a specific kind. My innate belief, however, persuades me to believe that people's behaviour is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

One pertinent example of the same is Syrians who are witnessing the hodgepodge of war since a long time now and are coaxed to behave in a certain way. Most of them are fleeing their country to escape the devastation of bombs and missiles and ruthless regime. It can be said that this specific behaviour to seek a safe is an output of not something which the individuals are directly responsible for. It is largely determined by the country's past and present times.

In fact, the example of Syrians falls perfectly in line with how political, cultural, social and economic factors shape the behaviour of a society. Kids born in poor and homeless families, often resort to begging following the other members of their family. Descendants of communities who have been in rivalry since a long time see the other communities as enemies. Social evils like the caste system, still practised widely in India, which deprives the specific communities to not be a part of the larger society is forced upon the new-comers of the caste afflicted societies and gets them to behave in a specific way. The fact that Indians cannot visit Pakistan easily or vice-versa is determined by the long standing political tensions between the two countries and is no way a making of an individual's action. People in a country like North Korea do not speak anything against the regime, not because they don't want to, but because of the intolerance of the ruling party.

A lot of aspects in our life is a making of what prevails outside our realm of individual control. Though this idea may not hold true for every situation, it leaves a mark on how the individuals and the larger communities generally act or react.