People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

People’s behavior is challenged and stimulated by the environment they are exposed to. Certainly, any student has been under stressfull testing conditions during his or her training. Though every individual manage one’ emotions in his or her idiosyncratic way, stress and exhaustion can push a student to cheat, plagiarize or become either significantly productive, or in the worse case scenario, counterproductive- turning a blank exam back to the examinator. It is the situation per say that generate an impulse and a responsive attitude that is considered usually caracteristic and can even be categorized. Very rarely would you see a stressed student under a standardized test shouting and dancing. He or she may be bitting his nails, shaking his legs and managing his behavior in a standard manner as other student would under similar circumstances.

Furthermore, a behavior is adaptative to a situation. As a matter of fact, it is what life requires and taught humanity. As history has proven through Darwin theory of evolution, we evolved physically through time and circumstances. The environment requiring certain skills for survival are then selected and preserved in our genertic code and passed down from one generation to the next. It is “the survival of the fittest.” The consummate hunter who developped a strong musculature, impressive dexterity and sharp sight will be capable of getting a raft of animals to feed from. It is this adaptive capability that is acquired and not his innate nature that depict the painting of evolution and this is the belief which dominate the scientific world.

Though, behavior is generated in response to outside forces, it is ultimately the choice of the individual to start in a particlar path. Indeed, every individual has what is so often referred to as “the free will.” A teenager can choose to drink alcohol and drive or to abstain, eventhough he or she may be under a social group influence. One can decide to refuse to use drug, even if it has been offered at no charge, not only for the reason being that it is illegal, but because it can be detrimental to one’s health and one’s peer surrounding him or her under influence of the drug. “Free will” has even been mentioned in the bible and is an accepted belief that dominate many religion. In Judaism, Pharaoh may have had his heart hardened by God so as to not let the Jewish nation leave Egypt, but ultimately it was up to him to decide to inslave them in the first place or to free them from slavery before any of the plagues striked upon his nation.

Similarly to many beings on earth, humans are given the ability to respond to their surrounding and adapt as indicated. However, it is one’s own decision to choose which route to take at a fork after beeing directed to an intersection.