People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Currently, it is debatable whether people’s behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making. Although some people may argue that people make their own decision on how to behave, I content their behavior is largely affected by external factors.

Admittedly, in some cases, people do not influence by outside sources and choose their actions. For example, when the racial segregation was prevalent in the United States, Rosa Park, now known as an international icon of racial resistance, was forced to give up her seat in colored section to a white passenger. Although she could follow the social norm and admitted to accept the order of bus driver, she instead decided not to give up her seat and go against the ubiquitous notion of racial discrimination. In this case, Park was not coerced by external factor, and made her own choice to go against the racism. Therefore, in a handful of cases, people do follow their own will and behave accordingly.

Nonetheless, it most cases, people adhere to forces not of their own making when they choose their actions. To illustrate, in India, the caste system is common and people’s action are largely determined by what class they are included in. Since this class stratification is rigid and long-lasting, it is arduous for people to go against the mainstream, and decide to perform their own distinctive behavior. In other words, people and their behavior are defined by the social groups they are born into and such social group restrains their behaviors. As we can see from this paragon, people’s decision can be abide by their social classes.

In addition, people’s action can be influence by the prevalent notion of the society. After the First World War, many people in Germany started to believe in nationalism and the idea of ethnic cleansing. Since Germany was confronted with economic difficulties after the WWI, Hitler and his government looked for a way to overcome and regain Germany’s past glory. It began to spread the idea of nationalism and the notion that current difficulties were yielded by Jews and minorities to German people. As a result, these ideas controlled everyone in the society and most people in Germany participate in the Jewish genocide. Here, the action of people was not chosen by their own; instead, the common belief in the society takes a toll on people’s behavior. Therefore, people sometimes prefer to accept the social norm rather than to opt for their own deed.

In conclusion, as we can see from these compelling examples, people’ actions are mostly influenced by external forces such as class stratification and social norms. Therefore, we should go the extra mile to broaden our horizons and decide our own behaviors.