People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling r

The speaker believed that external factors constitute the determinate force in people’s decision making instead of their own wills. I concede that outside factors are considerably important, but people’s own minds are the key of their behavior. Thus I tend to disagree with the claim.

Admittedly, extraneous factors play an important part in fostering the behavior of people. Take family influence for example, we all know how great the impact family has on us. An old saying goes, “like father, like son.” In fact, it is partly genetic and partly environmentally. Consider a kid grow up with single parent, which unfortunately set a bad example for the kid as an irresponsible mother or father who doesn’t care about the kid except for government allowance subtitled to single parenthood, there would be great chance for the kid to also become an irresponsible adult, as he might drop out of school at early age, have trouble in maintain healthy relationship with partner due to lack of experience for proper family relationship. There are numerous cases in real life that show troubling adults who were brought up in dysfunctional families.

Though we cannot ignore the outside issues which impact individual’s behavior, it is actually the person’s very own decision to how to behavior. In other words, he might not know how to get along with people as a result of problematic parenting, but he still has to chance to learn it from other sources. Indeed, nobody is born perfectly with everything they deserve, everyone has to learn through their life how to be a better human being. It is definitely wrong to blame everything else instead of oneself for inappropriate behavior whatsoever. Can a serial killer blame the divorce of his parents for his killing innocent people? Can drug abuser blame the disinterestedness of society for his self-indulgence? In my view, obviously not. In fact, it is ourselves who should be ultimately responsible for our behaviors.

Another issue related to the claim is that by what extent the behavior of people is dependent on extraneous forces, I tend to consider that the influence of environmental factors on us is not infinite, but limited. We, ourselves always hold the choice to leave an unhealthy environment or poisoning people surround us. It is always up to us to decide who we want to be.

Finally, to summarize, I disagree with the speaker. And I Think it is up to us to determine our own behavior no matter what situation we might be in.