People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

"A person is made of the environment around him". The statement is undebatable when we relate a persons nature and behaviour to milieu around him, a person brought up in an artistic milieu is likely to be more creative than a person who is brought up in a family of bankers. A person is nothing but an accumulation of several experiences over the span of lifetime, which are affected by forces not of their own making but several other external factors.

In several countries in the world, there is a different juvenile detention centre for people who haven't yet become the adults. If a person who hasn't yet reached the age of legal maturity is staged at the same place where gangs of robbers and rapists are placed, the young mind will be subjected to such an environment which will most likely affect the person he becomes once he grows up. The governments of these countries realise that the future generation should be raised in an environment which does not hamper the morals of the person they would become.

In offices, people who are participating in the human version of the rats race, try to act sweet in front of the bosses and cajole them for promotions. Humans act chivalrous in order to impress others. There is a very famous saying which states "People buy materials they don't like, to impress people they don't know, with the money they don't have". Such a saying is a validation of the human behaviour which tells how a person tries to appease another person in one form or the other.

The Almighty Dalai Lama quotes that "Nobody in the world wants to suffer and everybody wants happiness". By saying this Almighty does not only state about the happiness of the person, but clearly states that even a criminal is a person who does not want to suffer himself/herself and his/her past actions are a consequence of what the person would've gone through, the environment he was placed in at the time of crime. Dalai Lama acknowledges the very well implicit fact of life that a persons behaviour is subjected to the external factors around ones life.

While the people who oppose the statement could say, that every person after reaching a certain age is grown up enough to act in a way independent of others. Such a proposition would just compose of small fraction of the people in today's world. The statement claims that a persons behaviour is determined by external forces, everyone in the world has to behave in a particular way according to the culture, or the legal laws or society around. While certain part of the population might be uninfluenced by the forces around them, a person in today's life cannot lead a life completely unaffected by external factors.

It might be true that several decisions and behaviour in ones life remain independent of external factors, a person does stay affected by the external surroundings. Can an Aboriginal Australian still continue to hunt an animal anywhere he sees? Can the villagers in India still burn widows in the village as a part of the cultural practice? To conclude, it is important to state that while several decisions in a person life are based out of logic and love, a person is not truly independent of decision making influenced by external factors.